It’s Per$onal #84 – Age 26, Tucson, Arizona

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

26

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Tucson, Arizona

 

You might also like to read about this 23 year old from Tucson

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, low cost of living. Beautiful weather, “big city, small town” feel

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Can be hard making friends

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Reading, foodie, watching movies

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$100/week for me and partner

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1164

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Genetic Counselor full-time.

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes. I have a lot of autonomy in my role, love my specialty. I also get to work with students which I enjoy.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$81,120, I get a $2000 continuing education stipend.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Part-time instructor for the local genetic counseling graduate program

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Currently not getting paid due to logical issues. Will make around $1,300/month once this is fixed.

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes. I negotiated my primary job salary when I received the offer. I had another offer in hand that was higher. My current company beat that offer.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans. I started with $105K combined for undergrad and grad school. I now have $55K left.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

I invest $312/month to my 401K, $100/month in my HSA, and $50/month in my Roth IRA.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

My house that I share with my partner. The space, permanency, and ability to make it our own has been lovely.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Start investing even just $20/month into the Roth IRA I had opened at 18.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off my student loans by 30th birthday, have a net worth of $80K by 30. Buy a rental property.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Student loan pay off.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off almost 50% of my student loan debt in 3 years.

 

*Bonus question*: What makes you imperfect?

I take things too personally.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.