It’s Per$onal #87 – Age 25, Rochester, NY

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Rochester, NY

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, good cost of living, excellent food scene, good employment opportunities.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No!

 

Do you have any pets?

No!

 

Related content:

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Photography, reading, walking, swimming, hiking, traveling, cooking, baking!

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No!

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$50/week

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

825

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Bilingual speech-language pathologist

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I do, school based schedule and summers off!

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

~$53,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, as an early intervention speech-language therapist.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

~$600

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, two steps on a teacher step salary

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

NA

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans and car. Started with $115,000, down to $70,000

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$6,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

A trip to Utah!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Choose the CHEAP SCHOOL!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Become student loan debt free by January 2022 and pay off my car by June 2022.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off these student loans!

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I paid off $42,000 of student loan debt in one year following graduating with my masters degree!

 

What makes you imperfect?

Everything!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!