It’s Per$onal #104 – Age 30, San Jose, CA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

Name:

Ariel

 

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

San Jose, Ca

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

For the most part, yes. My husband and I are born and raised. It’s just an incredibly expensive place to live so I eventually will move out of the area in the future when my husband and I can buy a house.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Associate’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married for 3.5 years, together in total for over 8 years.

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

yes, 2 cats who are the lights of our life.

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I think I have a harder time making friends. Struggling with mental illness makes it hard to branch out and invest in new relationships.

I have a hard time just maintaining the ones I have so making new friends has not been high on my priority list.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

My husband and I play recreational adult softball multiple nights a week, so that is our main source of exercise and extra curricular activity.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No, we’ve been fortunate enough to have continuously worked through the pandemic.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

We keep our finances separate and buy groceries for ourselves. I don’t buy groceries every week but my guess is it averages to about $75-$100/wk

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2625

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

I don’t have a solidified title since I’m in a new, developing role but something along the lines of a “Data and Quality Management Lead”

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes and no. I’ve been with this company for over 6 years so I have an attachment to my coworkers, as well as my boss has been very flexible with me over the years when I’ve need to take long periods of absence due to my mental illnesses so I’m incredible grateful for the accommodations.

I also have good health benefits and a 401k match so I would want to make sure I had comparable benefits at a new job. I don’t plan on being here forever but I will likely stay here until I either move out of the area or if come come across a really good opportunity.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

~$50,000 +/- $10k. In years where I’ve had to take absences/modified schedules from work, it’s been between $40k-$50k, but in years where I’m busy getting a lot of overtime or working multiple gigs, It’s between $50k-$60k.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I have a pet sitting business I do regularly through the year, as well as I’m employed at a nanny agency but I only pick up shifts when I’m up for it so it hasn’t been often the past year or two.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

~$1500-$2000/yr. I don’t pet sit every month but when I do, it can be anywhere from a quick weekend to a full two week stint.

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes. Over the 6 years I’ve been here, I’ve been promoted approximately 5 times. One of them I asked for, the others were just natural progressions given the company climate during those times.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

no, but it’s something I would like to do in the future.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I am normally debt free. I’ve never had student loans and I paid off my car about a year ago.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Right now, I just have ~$2600 on credit cards. We moved last August, plus I was on a month leave from work during that time, so between moving expenses and getting a little spendy to make myself feel better/furnish our new place, it has left me with the biggest balance I’ve carried in years.

I am actively working to pay this off and hopefully can do that before the summer.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

I have about $48,000 in my 401k at work (I contribute 12% and get a match up to 3%,) about $2800 in my Acorns account, and $1600 in a Betterment brokerage account.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Hank, my lawn goose. I learned about the concept of a lawn goose a couple weeks ago and I got so excited, it was one of the most impulsive purchases I’ve ever made but I’ve never been more stoked. I’m hoping to start buying/making him some outfits soon.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

As far as money goes, I would tell my younger self to save more and not blow it on dumb stuff. Outside of money, I would just tell myself to not sweat the small stuff and to just embrace my authentic self.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I would like to get my credit cards paid off and I want to get my emergency fund to $10,000 before the end of the year.

 

Rollover Your Old 401(k) with Capitalize
 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Just my credit card balances and my sad emergency fund.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I’m proud of the fact that despite my set backs with my mental health and finances, I’ve still managed to take care of my business and haven’t had to ask my husband for money for any of my bills. I’m an extremely independent person and I don’t like to owe anyone or rely on others for financial support.

 

What makes you imperfect?

My brain and how it functions makes me imperfect but I wouldn’t be me without it.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.