It’s Per$onal #106 – Age 31, Fargo, ND

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

How old are you?

31

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Fargo, ND

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

I like where I live, but am open to moving in a few years. I like the beautiful summers as well as the crisp fall. However, if I could make winter a few months shorter I would.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Extremely hard. I work as a software developer so most of my co-workers are men, which I consider my ‘friends’, but I wouldn’t hand out with 1 on 1. I am also a bit of an introvert so I find it difficult to to put myself in situations where I would meet new people.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I have recently enjoyed getting into running. During summer months my husband and I go for walks as well as gardening, biking, and kyaking.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Tremendously- I picked up a 2nd job at a retail store to help meet people as well as get a discount on the clothing I already buy. covid has helped me evaluate more fully what I value about my job and things I am missing in it. With that, I took the leap to get a job at another company which more fits what I am currently looking for in my career.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$100 – $125 a week

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

$0

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Software Developer

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

During the pandemic, I made the switch to a different employer and feel very fulfilled in my job.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

About 105K with up to 30K bonus

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, an athlesure clothing store. Its not really about the wage, I got it for the great clothing discount since I purchase the clothes anyway as well as to meet people.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$200

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

I have applied for a higher position and got the job. I expected a large salary increase but it was only 5K. A year into that new job is when I started looking to leave companies knowing others were getting paid double what I was currently making.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Every. Single. Time.- Even fresh out of college I negotiated and received what I asked for. I try to be flexible in negotiations as I know some companies do have strict salary constraints but then they tend to be more flexible on PTO benefits, sign on bonuses, and other.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

We are debt free, now. We worked hard to pay off about 300K. We are fortunate for our (now) high incomes, but I started out making 30K. Realizing I needed a higher income, I went back to school to be a software developer, worked full time, cashflowed college, changed careers, lived frugally, and finally paid off our debt including our home at 31.

Today I still drive my rusty high school car, although its not glamorous I am so proud we have accomplished something we worked so hard for. We started 7 years ago but really made the biggest dent in the last 3 years.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

 I have about 150K, my husband has about 400K. We think of it as our retirement, not necessarily his or mine.

 

Rollover Your Old 401(k) with Capitalize

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My standing desk ($1,500 – ridiculous I know). I purchased for my new job which is remote.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Focus on where you want to be in 10 years, 20 years, 30 years, etc… and then think about how you are going to make that life happen. This includes salary, career, lifestyle, family… everything. I wish I would have been more intentional about where I was headed and how to get there.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

My ultimate goal is to retire when I want to. I currently love my job, but if there is a day when I dont want to go back to work, I want the option to leave with out having to worry.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Knowing how much I need for retirement. With so many lifestyle factors one number that is right for someone is not necessarily right for another.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off our home in under 5 years.

 

What makes you imperfect?

I often times fail and all together stop budgeting, but its something that has helped me stay focused and on track with my goals.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.