It’s Per$onal #111 – Age 27, Walla Walla, WA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Walla Walla, WA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes – Walla Walla is my hometown and after ‘flying the coop’ I realized just how much I loved it here, so I came back. Now that I am in a serious relationship and kids are in my future I am even more happy to live in my hometown and hope to raise my future kids here.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes – 1 quarantine dog who we share between me, my boyfriend, and his parents! She is well loved by everyone and has helped all of use through the COVID blues.

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Harder – I have struggled for years to balance/manage my anxiety and work, life, and relationship demands. I go home after work each night and am completely wiped out, therefore I don’t have the energy for Happy Hour, etc. On the weekends I travel to see my long-distance boyfriend so friend time isn’t possible then.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Reading – I absolutely love the Libby app for iPhone that links to my library card. I am definitely a Millennial in that I prefer to read books on my phone now!

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No. I was furloughed for 5 weeks at the beginning of the pandemic but somehow managed to get my ‘dream job’ in the fall of 2020. I have worked very hard and my salary increased in 2021 and I got a very nice Christmas bonus.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$50 – I live with my mom so she cooks our meals, I am responsible for snacks and the random grocery store run when we need milk for cereal!

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

0

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Executive Assistant for an Agricultural Real Estate Firm

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I work for a very motivated real estate agent who I admire and look up to. I genuinely enjoy coming to work each and every day, which is very important to me. He works very hard to grow his business and continue to succeed, even though he is already very successful!

We work very hard but he compensates me accordingly and treats me very well with non-monetary benefits (leaving early, holidays, etc.).

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$65000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes – when I was hired at my current job I knew I would have to pay for my own health insurance so I negotiated for an increase before signing my contract.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

NA

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Car – approximately $15,000

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$20,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My crystals – I use them for meditation/anxiety! They bring me joy and also help me ground myself when I am not feeling well.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t be afraid to speak up and ask for mental health help!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off my car in 2022 and start saving for a down payment for a house

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

My shopping – I shop when I am having a bad mental health day and buy things I don’t need. I need to find a healthier way to cope.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my first car loan early (while earning $30k salary!)

 

What makes you imperfect?

My mental health challenges – but they have taught me to put myself first, what to look for in a partner, etc. I wish I had spoken up sooner for help/medication when I was little but I wouldn’t change anything because it also molded me into the successful businesswoman I am today.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!