It’s Per$onal #177 – Age 31, Fairfax, VA

*** Please note: this is our FIRST male of the It’s Per$onal series. I’d love to know what you think. Email me your thoughts and if we should continue to include men in the “It’s Per$onal” series going forward at [email protected] ***

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal
How old are you?

31

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Fairfax VA

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes it’s my home town and I have a lot of business connections

Do you have any hobbies?

Too many expensive ones. And brand building

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

JMU cis (Computer Information Systems)

What is your current occupation?

Cloud engineering// product owner // 4x founder

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes. I only work on projects I want to. Things that advance my career

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

180k cash

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes 3 times and 2 market salary adjustments 30k each

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

Yes. I got an offer from somewhere else and told them to match it. They had to get the number approved though HR lol

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I maintain a small private practice with a caseload of about 10 clients

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Between 5-10k depending on client load

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

Joint

Do you have any children / dependents?

1 7 month old baby

Do you have any pets?

1 expensive golden doodle

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1400

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

2-300

Are you debt-free?

Yes

If you have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Tbh never had any real debt. Bought a Tesla for 75k put 25k down and financed 50k. Expenses to be Paid off in 3 years. Could have purchased in cash but wanted to build credit lol

Debt = Car, prob less then 20 k left. Can pay if off anytime

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

Maybe 150k I forget tbh I’m doing 12% 401k at 6% company match 100% SP500 and I have some bitcoin and other blue chip crypto I’m holding for the long run

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self?

Don’t get taken advantage of by people known to do bad business. See people for their actions not their words

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

I need to get fit and take my health serious. I want to make 1mm from the internet

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

“Learning disability” classified in high school lol 2.7 GPA high school through college. Who cares now lol, I am very successful and general attitude of “F*** u pay me” lol nobody can provide the level of service that I do. I really put my heart into my client projects

What makes you imperfect?

I’m not a millionaire yet lol and I want my business to be flourishing as much as I have made my clients flourish. I need to get fit. I need to ( and am getting better at ) spending more time with family

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

Growing my business with long term clients on retainer

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-177

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!