It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

ITS PERSONAL - anonymous money blog series for women

 

How old are you?

32

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Valencia, CA

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s nothing to do here and far from everything.

Do you have any hobbies? What are they?

Lifting, Pilates, taking our dog to the beach, paddle boarding and traveling 🙂

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

Where did you go to school? What did you study?

University of Rhode Island – Nursing

Are you currently employed?

Yes

What is your current occupation?

RN Transplant Coordinator

Do you like your current occupation / job? Why or why not?

I just started my new role and it’s been a breath of fresh air after 11 years of bedside nursing. I’m still getting to help people to get life-saving transplants, but also get to protect my mental health now 🙂

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

$154k annualy

Have you ever been promoted at work? What position(s) were you promoted to?

This position was more of a “level up” than a promotion, but I’d consider it that!

Have you ever negotiated your salary? If so, how did that go / what was the outcome?

No, unfortunately hospitals are pretty strict on their nursing salaries

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If yes, what is it and what do you do?

Not currently but I used to be an IV hydration/wellness nurse per diem!

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make *monthly* from your second job / side hustle?

Maybe $500/month depending on how much I worked.

What is your relationship status?

Married

Do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

We have joint savings and checking, as well as individual checking accounts

What is your *monthly* rent / mortgage for your household?

$0 currently as we live with my in-laws to save for a house

Do you have any children / dependents? If yes, how many?

0

Do you have any pets? If yes, what kind?

1 dog who’s our child 🙂

About how much do you spend on groceries *each week*?

$150ish

Are you debt free?

No

What kinds of debt do you have?

Car payment, credit card

How much *cash* savings do you have currently?

$10,000 +

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

About how much money do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

I’m just shy of $100k and I’m SO PROUD because I’ve been aggressively investing while paying off over $100k in debt in the past few years as well

What’s been your favorite purchase this year?

A last minute trip to the Galápagos Islands prior to starting my new job

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self?

Don’t fall into the credit card trap.

What current goals do you have? (ex. Health goals, Fitness, Money, Career, Travel, etc.)

Pay off my credit card. Save $100k this year for a home down deposit. Get back into a consistent workout routine. Be outside as much as possible!

What are you currently struggling with, if anything?

I’m adjusting to a new M-F schedule, and gave up a lot of flexibility with my schedule for this new role. But I know this role will help us with our goals and will set me up for other amazing roles in the future! So it’s a sacrifice, but it’s still a struggle as I used to only work 3 12s a week.

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

Paying off over $130k in debt in 5 years.

What makes you imperfect?

Definitely still in the credit card cycle. I know the principles of becoming debt free, but I constantly fall back into the trap. It’s a work in progress.

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!