It’s Per$onal #96 – Age 27, Salt Lake City, UT

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Salt Lake City, UT

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

For the most part. It’s close to my boyfriend’s family and there’s a lot of cool outdoor stuff to do here.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

1 dog, a grey labradoodle 🙂

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Learning about personal finance and FIRE lol, taking an online course in UX to hopefully change careers soon, spending time with my dog, reading, traveling and planning trips. I was getting into weightlifting before Covid & want to get back to it soon.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Fortunately no

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$60-$100 depending on what I need, this includes household supplies. Usually about $400/month.

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1288.00

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Financial operations

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I just switched to a new department so I’m no longer working in a call center and the work load should be much more manageable, so I’m a lot happier and less stressed now.

I don’t like that my company doesn’t allow negotiations for pay or give raises outside of yearly merit increases & I do think I’m underpaid. This job is to pay the bills while I work on breaking into tech.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

43000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, but I want to start

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Only unofficially, so more responsibility, same pay. Do not recommend ? My recent change to a new department doesn’t include a raise/promotion, it’s strictly a lateral move.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

No, I’ve tried but was told my company “doesn’t negotiate.” Also do not recommend.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Paid off my CC debt last year, about 1.5k. I was lucky to graduate without student debt thanks to going to a cheap school, scholarships, and my parents. I bought a new car last year with a 10k loan, currently 8k left.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

7-8k started when I went full time at my current job in October 2019.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

My 2 new tattoos

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Open an IRA as soon as you turn 18! And don’t worry about everything being perfect, just start doing and aim for good enough.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I have a lot, but currently working toward a 3 month emergency fund, about 1/3rd of the way there. After that, pay off my car loan early. Also, to switch careers and start earning more.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Balancing fun and saving. Being able to save enough while still enjoying my life now.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Opening a 401k as soon as I got my first job that offered one

 

What makes you imperfect?

Worrying too much. I forget to enjoy the moment I’m in and I’m always thinking about what I’m missing or what I need to do next. I’m working on being more present each day & allowing myself to relax.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.