It’s Per$onal #110 – Age 24, Madison, WI

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

What’s your name?

Kelly — check out Kelly on Instagram! — @kelly.a.ryan

 

How old are you?

24

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Madison, WI

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes. I love the city, the food, the landscape, the cost of living, the vibes

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, a 3 year old rescue dog

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard! I moved here not knowing anyone and got on Bumble BFF but I’ve only made one friend from it

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Crafting, taking photos, interior design

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

In the beginning, I was furloughed from March 2020-May 2020. That sucked, but it didn’t impact me too much

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$75-$90

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1190

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Copywriter

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I like my job, but it’s your typical retail/e-commerce corporate job. I’m just a cog in a wheel

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

55000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I am a brand ambassador for a local food delivery service

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$70-$100

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, I was promoted in May 2021 from Associate Copywriter to Copywriter. I also got a $7,000 a year salary increase along with the title change

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, I negotiated my salary increase when I was promoted

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

NA

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Credit cards and student loans

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?
What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Plane tickets to Miami for Spring Break

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Chill out a little and live more in the moment

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I hope to pay off all my credit card debt within the next few months

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Student loan repayment resuming

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I’ve saved over $15,000 since I started my job in July 2019

 

What makes you imperfect?

I am extremely emotional and wallow in my sadness often

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.