It’s Per$onal #113 – Age 30, Dallas, TX

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

30

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Dallas, TX

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! Dallas has so many things to do and the people are so nice!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, 1 dog

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

A little bit of both! I’m naturally more introverted, but we got lucky and have made a lot of friends in our apartment building

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

N/A

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, I wasn’t able to find a job for about a year

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$200

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2300

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Account Manager

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes and no! I don’t love what I do and I wish I got paid more, but the company I work for has great potential for growth and has decent benefits

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$53k + $17k bonus

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, looking into one once I finish grad school

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No, just started about a year ago

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

No, thinking about it though

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

NA

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans only

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$10k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

I don’t know if this counts, but paying off my car!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Start budgeting and being purposeful with your money sooner. Use your extra money to work towards financial goals.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I am saving up to pay for my last semester of grad school and then will work on saving for a house

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Having enough for a down payment on a house early next year

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my car early and working while in school

 

What makes you imperfect?

Where do I start?! I’d say I’m imperfect because I try too hard to be perfect. I am naturally a perfectionist/type A personality. I am working on giving myself grace in many aspects of my life, including my finances.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!