It’s Per$onal #112 – Age 28, Boston, MA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

What’s your name?

Danielle

Check out Danielle on social!

Instagram: @daniellemhare and @theredflagcollectors

Twitter: @danielle_rfc

TikTok: @daniellemhare

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9DCdoNy8kTB_Jy9A5gZR0w?app=desktop&sub_confirmation=1

 

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Boston, MA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes I love it! I grew up outside of Boston so I really liked moving into the city. Boston in my opinion is the best of both worlds – I love being able to walk to things that I need but still have my car. Car karaoke is my love language!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I find it to be a two sided coin. I’m both introverted and extroverted. I get really bad social anxiety in some situations but once I meet a new person that I click with it all goes away!

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I’m a podcaster about to come off a long break! I also really like to workout (Orange Theory forever!!), and then the basic travel, sports games and concerts.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Initially yes in a negative way, I was in a job where the company wasn’t doing well prior to Covid and then there was no opportunity for any raises. In March 2021, I left that job and moved a level up in my career and a great salary increase came along with it!

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$50-$75 depending on how lazy I’m being – let’s be honest!

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1700

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Marketing Manager

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job. I work for a great leader who really is there to help us develop our skill sets and also allows us to take risks and learn new things. I feel like every day I have learned something new and it is never boring!

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

About $89,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I do – I run a podcast that is on and off. Definitely trying to focus on it more. Check it out – The Red Flag Collectors on all social platforms!

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

It really varies. I get paid per download via my streaming service and have gotten a few ads. These ads are mostly product swaps.

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes! I was promoted at my last company during an acquisition because the business unit was moved to a fully new team. I became our subject matter expert.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

I have not – but it is review season 😉

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

NA

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Credit Cards: About $1,000

Student Loans: About $60,000 (I don’t even know anymore)

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Tickets to follow Machine Gun Kelly on tour

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

When living at home without a rent payment – SAVE IT ALL! You don’t need a million new outfits because surprise you will get rid of them.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Short Term: Stack up an emergency fund

Longer Term: Save up enough to pay for a new car in cash

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Student Loans right now! Also trying to make sure that my car stays alive as long as possible

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my car loan a year early!

 

What makes you imperfect?

I think finance wise – not increasing lifestyle spend when salary changes. You don’t always need the newest everything!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.