It’s Per$onal #166 – Age 29, Arlington, WA

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal

How old are you?

29

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Arlington, WA

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! Small town living mixed with opportunities and close to Everett where there is a lot of work

Do you have any hobbies?

Woodworking, thrifting

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

Eastern Washington University – Recreation

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Parks and Rec Admin

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, great pay and great work/life balance. Room for growth and respect across the board. Part of creating park spaces for future generations which is a personal goal of mine

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

94,000

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

5% salary increase for the first 5 years after hire plus average of 4% COLA each year on top

*Taylor’s note: “COLA” stands for “cost of living adjustment”

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

No

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

No

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

Joint

Do you have any children / dependents?

Yes 1

Do you have any pets?

Yes 1

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1925

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

175

Are you debt-free?

No

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

On track to have paid off $103,000 in 65 months (this December!!)

If you have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

It has been everything, student loans, cars, boat, tractor, cell phone, wedding rings, credit cards inter 5,000 left on one card and one car

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

About 7% of my salary and about 3% of husbands salary. I am comfortable with mine because I have a pension based retirement regardless of my contribution rate. Not comfy with husbands, plan to move to 10% once debt free

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

24 hour trip with husband to road trip to a concert and back the very next day!

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

You worth is not at work

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

So close- become debt free! And baby # 2

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

Meaningful friendships

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

Our farm, 3 acres fully fenced, beautiful big barn and room to enjoy the outdoors for our kids and pets. Room to actively be a part of nature

What makes you imperfect?

Not enough grace for myself or others at times and too much grace at other times

Any final thoughts you want to add?

No

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-166

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!