It’s Per$onal #169 – Age 33, Charlotte, NC

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal

How old are you?

33

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Charlotte, NC

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! Cost of living is reasonable, close to family

Do you have any hobbies?

CrossFit, cooking, plants/gardening

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

Elon university- marketing

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Director of Project management/CSM

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes- lots of autonomy and I learn something new everyday. I love solving puzzles (aka creating functional workflows) to help my teams function more efficiently.

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

138k. Includes profit sharing an an annual bonus

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, received a skip-level promotions last year which I had to advocate for myself heavily in order to receive. Felt good!

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

Yes. 2 years ago I received a raise I felt was not commensurate with my performance, barely a cost of living adjustment. I negotiated it up to a 15% raise.

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

Joint

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

Do you have any pets?

Yes

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

4700

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

100

Are you debt-free?

No

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I paid off 20k of credit card debt in 14 months between 2019 and 2020. We now have a mortgage and 1 car payment but no other debt.

If you have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Mortgage (600k), car payment (30k)

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

300k. Yes

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

Our house that we built

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Pay off your credit cards every month no matter what!

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

Start a family, continue saving for retirement, start a college fund

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

Work-life balance. I love my job but it is very demanding

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

My skip level promotion, paying off debt, lifting heavy weights via CrossFit

What makes you imperfect?

I’m a bit of a control freak/perfectionist

Any final thoughts you want to add?

N/A

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-169

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.