It’s Per$onal #170 – Age 33, Ronkonkoma, NY

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal

How old are you?

33

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Ronkonkoma NY

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes and No – my family lives here but it’s so expensive

Do you have any hobbies? What are they?

Hiking

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

What did you study? (ex. Psychology, Fine Arts, Sports Marketing)

SUNY Cortland undergrad, Stony Brook University grad school

Are you currently employed?

Yes

What is your current occupation?

Falls Prevention Coordinator

Do you like your current occupation / job? Why or why not?

Yes – I get to use my clinical skills and help older adults prevent falls, also WFH is amazing and hard to come by as a clinician

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

70,000 (30hr/week)

Have you ever been promoted at work? What position(s) were you promoted to?

N/A

Have you ever negotiated your salary? If so, how did that go / what was the outcome?

Yes – was offered $60k for FT work turned it down bc it was too low, offered me $60k for 30 hr a week so I could do per diem clinical work on the side – I’ve then gotten a 10% and 7% raise since then (1 year ago)

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If yes, what is it and what do you do?

Yes – per diem occupational therapy

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make *monthly* from your second job / side hustle?

$1575 pretax

What is your relationship status?

Married

Do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

Joint

What is your *monthly* rent / mortgage for your household?

500

Do you have any children / dependents? If yes, how many?

No

Do you have any pets? If yes, what kind?

Yes 1 goldendoodle

About how much do you spend on groceries *each week*?

75

Are you debt free?

Yes

How much debt did you pay off and how long did it take you to pay it off?

Paid off $60k student loans. We’re about to move into our brand new build estimating the mortgage loan amount to be about $450k.

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

About how much money do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

$300k combined with my husband – yes but eagerly investing as much as we can

What’s been your favorite purchase this year?

Our new home build

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self?

Invest earlier! The pretax $ won’t be a big difference in the weekly paycheck. Talk about finances with your significant other – it will change your life and relationship!!

What current goals do you have? (ex. Health goals, Fitness, Money, Career, Travel, etc.)

Moving into our new home, continuing my health and fitness journey while preparing for IVF

What are you currently struggling with, if anything?

Waiting to start IVF

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

The relationship/life my husband and I are creating

What makes you imperfect?

I am a ball of nerves and stress, learning to release that anxiety


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!