It’s Per$onal #35 – Age 27, Cape Cod, MA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Aurora

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live?

Cape Cod, MA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1500

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Construction Management

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

80000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I love the work that I do but also the location (20 minute commute) and the people I work with are supportive

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I love re-selling for a hobby but will also be a landlord soon

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

50-200

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I more or less track my expenses and set spending/savings goals every month

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Still paying it off

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

Started with $90k, have $35k left

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

767

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

None

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I owe $5k left on my 2016 car

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

800ish

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

Not including my husbands, $30k

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Work optional, living off rental properties, traveling as I please and being involved in organizations that matter to me

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

My wedding

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My rental property

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Self care/health & fitness/activities that are good for me

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Get mine and my new husbands accounts all figured out & come up with a plan

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Keep buying rental properties until we can live off of the rental income, invest, travel

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not being organized with my husbands accounts

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off $30k of debt in 1 year, investing as soon as I started my career

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

We will own our house out right by the time I’m 40! We’ve only had the house for 2 years (: the power of buying under market value and willing to live through renovations

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 
Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.