It’s Per$onal #34 – Age 25, Detroit, MI

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Megan

 

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live?

Detroit, MI

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Engaged

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1135

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I had to defer a raise, but that’s it. I’m very fortunate!

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Engineer

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$75,000-$80,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I am compensated fairly, people are great, and lots of room for growth!

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes, using excel to create my monthly budget and track my spending

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Not debt free yet, but I’ve paid off $26,850 in about a year and a half

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

Started at $56,000 and now I’m at $29,150

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

1000

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

747

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$38,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Having the freedom to pursue whatever I want to do without thinking about money, traveling, giving

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

A couch

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

I still drive my high-school car, so probably my laptop!

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Travel, home décor

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Save for and cash flow my wedding!

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off student loans in less than 2 years, save for a 20% down payment on a house, and continuously save 20-25% toward retirement after that.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Student loans

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Living on less than half of what I bring home every month and having almost $40,000 saved for retirement at 25

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

I currently have $15,000 saved for a car and I will never have a car payment!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 
Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.