It’s Per$onal #95 – Age 28, Nashville, TN

It’s Per$onal is a blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Nashville, TN

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, and no. Ideally, I would like to live in Nashville half the year and some other place for the other part of the year.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, a dog

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard because I am an introvert.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Yes, I am a money nerd so I love to read anything related to personal finance.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not really

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

150-175, but its split between my partner

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1200

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

HR and Payroll Specialist

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Not really. I work as an HR and payroll specialist for a construction company, but I don’t like the culture of the company. It is very “family” oriented so really no room for growth or promotions. Plus very male dominated and honestly kind of racist and sexist.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$65,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, currently educating BIPOC teachers about financial literacy. I love it so far =)

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$0, hoping that in the future I will make money

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, after I got my masters I asked for a raise.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I paid off about $42,000 in debt. Student loan was $15,000 and car loan was $27,000. It took me about 3 years because I was also saving to pay for graduate degree. But being debt free after finishing my masters was a great feeling!

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

$0

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$170,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Laser hair removal, it can be a bit pricey, but only having to shave like once a month is great.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t be scared and apply for more scholarships!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

My current money goal is to save enough to take a sabbatical in 2023. I want to save about 1-2 years of spending.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Making my side hustle into a business that makes me money.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my debt and being able to save for my masters in 3 years! It was hard because my spending was very limited, but definitely worth it. I honestly think that paying off debt was more difficult than investing.

 

What makes you imperfect?

Being scared to be vulnerable.

Want to fill out your own It’s Per$onal survey? Drop your email below! The survey is sent to all email subscribers once a month.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.