It’s Per$onal #98 – Age 29, Houston, TX

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Houston, TX

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, but I would move somewhere else in a heartbeat. Houston is great for the practical things in life – low cost of living, a lot of job opportunities, great restaurants and shopping, etc. but doesn’t have anything for outdoors activities and is not within driving distance of any outdoors activities. I’d like to live somewhere I could go hiking on the weekends.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard, after college I had less social events and lived further away from my group of friends making it more difficult to meet new people through people I already know.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I love doing creative hobbies like sewing, quilting, and photography, as well as active hobbies like traveling and hiking.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$75

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1499

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Finance Manager

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I love the company I work for and the team I work with. I was recently promoted, giving me the opportunity to challenge myself and learn a new skill set.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$160,000 (includes base salary, annual bonus, and RSUs)

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, I started at my company as a Financial Analyst. After 3 years I was promoted to Senior Financial Analyst and then 2 years later was promoted to Finance Manager.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

No

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$144K (401K, Roth IRA, HSA, personal investment account)

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Solo trip to Colorado for a week!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t be afraid to ask people for what you want/need from them. Don’t settle for relationships (romantic or not) that don’t make you feel valued.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

To have the ability to retire at 40 if I want to!

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Setting aside savings for a house in the next couple of years while still keeping my regularly recurring investments.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Not letting increases in my salary over the years result in a huge jump in lifestyle. Although I definitely do spend more than I did 5 years ago, I have become so much better at making sure a large portion of my salary increases go towards investing or saving.

I’ve become much more intentional about where my money goes when it comes to spending.

 

What makes you imperfect?

As someone who works in finance I often feel like my personal finances should be extremely regimented, specifically when it comes to budgeting. That is not the reality at all!

I am strict about my automatic withdrawals to saving and investing and not touching those accounts, but give myself the freedom to spend the rest however I want.

If I want to go on a vacation I don’t rearrange my budget. I earn enough at this point in life to enjoy the things I want while knowing I have those automatic withdrawals keeping me on track!

I feel so incredibly grateful to have this comfort and stability with my finances to not have to stress and worry over my purchases.


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!