It’s Per$onal #117 – Age 34, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

What is your name?

Alli

 

How old are you?

34

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, this is the city where I received my bachelor’s degree and most of my friends live here. I moved away a couple of years after completing undergrad and then moved back almost 4 years ago.

There’s just something about Edmonton!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, one cat.

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Yes and no. I am extroverted and enjoy being around people so that is not barrier. As I moved into my 30s, I found that people are more set in their existing friend groups and it is MUCH harder to make new, close friends.

I have a lot of newer casual acquaintances but have only made 2 new close friends in the past decade.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

MANY. Knitting, cross-stitching, sewing, cooking, golfing, snowshoeing (I live in the Great White North), camping, walking, biking, yoga, reading, volunteering in my community.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, but it is mostly superficial. I was very fortunate to have job security throughout the pandemic so that was never concern. The stress and loneliness had an impact on my spending habits.

I am an impulsive/emotional spender, so I spent a lot more money than usual on online shopping, take-out and wine, etc. and racked up some CC debt.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

140

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1265

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Urban Planner

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I like it. Planning is sometimes a thankless and frustrating job, but it is rewarding to be able to contribute to changing the places we live.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

82,000 (in CAD)

*Taylor’s Note: This is about $65k USD

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No, but I have switched roles/companies.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, twice. For my current and previous job.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans and CC.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

Just over 50K.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My new toaster – it’s baby blue!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Start investing and build better money habits!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off my debt. CoastFIRE by 40.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off my debt.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my student’ loans from bachelor’s degree.

 

What makes you imperfect?

My perfectionist tendencies.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.