It’s Per$onal #30 – Age 27, Canada

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Wren

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live?

Canada

 

What is your highest level of education?

Associate’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1300

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Xray/CT tech

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$105,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Love my job, but hate my boss. Looking to move hospitals even though it will mean a taking a large pay cut.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

N/A

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I have a budget book. Every paycheque is preplanned (roughly as my pay is very inconsistent) and accounted for in the book under various columns.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

0

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

0

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I have a car loan which will be paid off next September ( I could pay it off sooner but it has 0% financing) and a small family loan $1800 which will be paid off in October

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

No

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

N/A

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$70,000 at the moment plus a healthcare pension.

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Retired at 57 at the latest, and money to do what we want, travel, help our kids and enjoy life.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

$1600 laptop

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

$250,000 house

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I love buying other people gifts. If I’m splurging for myself I love Lululemon.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off family loan and car loan. , cash flow a new roof for the house.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off the mortgage faster. Keep investing for retirement aggressively while compound interest is my friend.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not being able to retire at 57, not having enough to money to enjoy retirement.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Finishing Xray school and getting a job making $95,000 my first year working.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.