It’s Per$onal #172 – Age 25, Indianapolis, IN

 

Have you filled out an “It’s Per$onal” survey before? If yes, feel free to include the link for that blog post here!

https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-51/

How old are you?

25

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Indianapolis, IN

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes – I actually filled out this survey almost 3 years ago and, at the time, I did not love where I lived, but I have since moved (bought a house) in the suburbs closer to family and love where I live. Very centrally located to family and things to do and sensible cost of living that is manageable

Do you have any hobbies? What are they?

I love biking, DIY, fun craft/art projects. I would love to learn how to sew and have a better fitness routine.

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

Where did you go to school? What did you study?

IU, Finance + Supply Chain

Are you currently employed?

Yes

What is your current occupation?

Analyst

Do you like your current occupation / job? Why or why not?

I love it – there are tough days as with any job, but compared to where I was 3 years ago – I am pretty happy. It’s very personally fulfilling work with a level of challenge and growth I enjoy. I see myself with the company longer term.

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

72,500 base + roughly 1.5-4K bonuses – part company/personal performance (roughly 2-5% of salary)

(compared to 45k MAX 50k 3 years ago)

Have you ever been promoted at work? What position(s) were you promoted to?

Not at this company although I did get an additional performance raise this year and an additional bonus after transitioning to a new area.

Have you ever negotiated your salary? If so, how did that go / what was the outcome?

At my last company. Yes. I negotiated up 2-3K, but I did not at this company. I actually started towards the upper side of the salary range (stated it high at the interview) and didn’t want to risk the role in a competitive environment when I really wanted it.

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If yes, what is it and what do you do?

No – previously sold on Mercari/Poshmark and did shipt (made a max of $250 a month, average $25-50). Once I was debt free, I stopped to focus on work balance and self care.

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make *monthly* from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

What is your relationship status?

In a relationship

Do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

Separate

What is your *monthly* rent / mortgage for your household?

1360

Do you have any children / dependents? If yes, how many?

No

Do you have any pets? If yes, what kind?

Yes – 1 small animal

About how much do you spend on groceries *each week*?

$150 would be a high estimate – I am actually really not a great tracker with my food spending so not 100%. I’m pretty cheap but groceries are not.

Are you debt free?

Yes

How much debt did you pay off and how long did it take you to pay it off?

I am consumer debt free – paid off $25K between car + student loans while fully funding my last 2 years of college out of pocket. Took about 16 months of extreme frugality and working long hours. I do have a mortgage now – roughly $225K.

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

About how much money do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

$40K – drastic improvement from my $0 three years ago. My net worth is around $130K with home equity and savings. I am not retiring anytime soon, but comfortable with the amount I am investing monthly and feel on track towards retirement goals.

What’s been your favorite purchase this year?

New appliances! Makes my kitchen look so much nicer.

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self?

Start good habits early – the little things add up.

What current goals do you have? (ex. Health goals, Fitness, Money, Career, Travel, etc.)

Yes, I’d love to take a solo trip and just visit a few new places over the next few years. Health/fitness – I want to have a balanced routine with eating habits and a fitness routine before potentially having kids in a few years. Also want to get my mental health in check.

What are you currently struggling with, if anything?

Mental Health – last few months on my parents insurance and while it used to have good offerings for therapy, it was very limited this round. I am in a peak depression state that has made functioning normally difficult the last 6+ months. I want to get back to regular therapy and just felt so discouraged looking for a therapist. Hate saying this but trying to “suck it up” until I switch to my company’s insurance.

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

Becoming debt free, buying my house, learning to live with my depression and anxiety through all the peaks and valleys. Creating a life I love and always working to make it the best it can be.

What makes you imperfect?

Not being able to control my emotions and feeling like a failure. Having to adjust my life to fit those feelings around other people.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.