It’s Per$onal #51 – Age 22, Indianapolis, IN

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Scarlett

 

How old are you?

22

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Indianapolis, IN

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

842

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not directly

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Health Insurance Sales Operations

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

45,000-50,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes for the flexibility. No for the long time growth. I don’t think I will stay for longer than a few years. It is definitely not my forever job.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I resell personal items. I used to do Shipt. Looking for something more lucrative like shipt for the weekends currently.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$25

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

No. I do have a written list of bills, but I do not budget. This is also something I am changing this month.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I am close! I have paid off $21,000+ with less than $3,000 to go.

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Car Loan

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

770

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

No

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

N/A

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Paid off home and the ability to travel as much as I want.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

I have not had a lot this year. New tires in March for about $400

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Either my Car (≈$13,000) or my diploma (≈$45,000)

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Food!! I have cut out a lot on my debt free journey, but I love eating out.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Debt freedom, small EF, and save for a house down payment

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Having children with my SO, Maxing out Roth IRA

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

I feel pretty secure right now. Honestly my worries right now come from a platform if privilege. I really want to buy a house by the end of next year so I have been keeping my eyes on the market. The housing market is tough right now!! I’m worried about being competitive enough with a lower down payment (probably 5-10%). I’m fearful of “losing” a house I love.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying my way through school while living on my “own” with little to no family assistance and still becoming student debt free with 3 months of graduating.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

I have lived with my SO throughout college which has kept my bills manageable. I would have not accomplished as much without living with him and/or a roommate throughout college.

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.