It’s Per$onal #44 – Age 27, Seattle, WA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Alaina

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Seattle, WA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

0

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1250

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I got laid off from my old job, got this new job (it’s a much better one!)

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Nanny

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

48k with full benefits

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I LOVE my job! It’s a much better fit for me than a cubicle job

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes. I have 2 small businesses as my side hustle

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

1000-1500 a month from one business. The other one is just starting

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I put 1600 a month in my checking account and that’s it (my mortgage comes out of there too). Every so often i have 40/50 dollars left but most of the time it’s all spent.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

N/A

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I have my main mortgage and my rental mortgage (im footing the bill during COVID for my amazing long term renter)

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

660

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

35k

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Work on my small business 2 days a week. Local trips and international trips but still very frugal. Enjoy the slow living lifestyle

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

A hot tub!

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My house

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I spend money on food, and that brings me joy!

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Dont dip into savings!

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off my rental property in 5 years. Sell it and put that money in a brokerage account for early retirement.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

None

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Being able to save, i was a terrible spender.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

No

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 
Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!