It’s Per$onal #43 – Age 27, Manchester, NH

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Lauren

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Manchester, NH

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

600

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Admission counselor at a university

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$60,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job! I am extremely service oriented and I love helping guide people towards their goals.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I occasionally work at a bakery. I also started a blog and am learning more about how to monetize it.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

It varies. The bakery is seasonal. I make $15/hr if I work on a Sunday

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes. I create a zero-based budget each pay period.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

I’m not debt free but I have paid off ~$55,000 in student loan debt since October 2018.

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

$37,053.70

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

461.85

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I lease a car. I’m planning on buying it out.

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

746

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$26,781.47

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Financial freedom. Security. Being able to support my family. Creating a legacy. Enjoying life – traveling, relaxing, creating, being present, and spending quality time with loved ones.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Student loans

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My college education

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Coffee brings me SO much joy. I splurge on this frequently.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off $10,000 on my student loans before the end of the year.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Be debt free by the time I’m 30. Buy out the current lease on my car. Save up a hefty emergency fund ~3-6 months of expenses. Contribute 15% of my income to retirement once my debt is paid off. Start mapping out my financial future. Start having serious money conversations with my boyfriend and discussing our future together! <3

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off the rest of my student loan debt.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off $55,000 in the last 23 months, despite facing cancer diagnosis, finishing an MBA, and working full time while still managing to also ENJOY life. Hustling, working OT, saving and paying down on debt. Learning how to budget and track my spending with the help of a money/budgeting coach.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Nope!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!