It’s Per$onal #8 – Age 25, Jefferson, New Jersey

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Meg

 

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live?

Jefferson, New Jersey

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Engaged!

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your current monthly rent / mortgage?

3750

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

3 weeks of furlough (unpaid), company match 401k cancelled, no raise this year

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Graphic Designer

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$78,750 + 12-15k bonus once a year

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I like being a designer but not for the company I work for

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I freelance design and also work as an office assistant 1-2 nights a week

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$100-300

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes, I use Mint to track all of my accounts and transactions and then I use a pen and paper to budget each paycheck.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

$11,500 left (originally 24k)

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

200

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

$8600 on an interest free credit card

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Car loan $13,500 left (originally 30k)

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

 If Yes, what is your credit score?

728

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$15,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Comfortably living without worry of money

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

A week long RV trip

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Our house

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy? Or, what do you tend to splurge on?

Home decor

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off credit card and student loans

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Save a year of expenses, pay of all debt including mortgage early

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off my interest free credit card by February (when interest starts)

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Starting to budget in college and being able to pay off a lot of debt and save to buy a house early in life

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:

 

 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!