It’s Per$onal #83 – Age 24, Southwest Michigan

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

How old are you?

24

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Southwest Michigan

 

You might also like to read about Megan from Detroit.

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! I was previously working out of Indianapolis, but have been working from home since March 2022, so I decided to move home! I love being close to my family and friends!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Getting married Spring 2022!

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No children.

 

Do you have any pets?

One dog, the cutest hellion alive, a rescue German Shepard named Magnum.

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I would say easy and hard. Making friends at work was easy as everyone my age was in the same boat, but outside of work was hard! Even more difficult that covid hit 8 months into my new job and I was still in the process of forming those relationships. Moving to a new state/city is hard when you don’t know anyone!

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I love to paddleboard and camp! Work life balance is huge for me so getting out into nature definitely helps me take those “breaks”.

More recently, my hobby trips to goodwill have turned into a small reselling side hustle. It’s so fun!

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I was lucky enough to not be impacted financially by Covid-19. I’ve been able to move in with my fiancé and cut back on many expenses.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

Between my fiancé and I it’s about $100/week

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

789

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Financial Business Process Analyst

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job! The culture of my workplace is better than I could’ve ever imagined! I joined a team where almost everyone was half/twice my age and had a lot more experience than me.

I have never once felt belittled for my lack of knowledge or disrespected because of my age. On top of that, I love what I do and that’s just as important!

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

71,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

A little less than a year ago I started reselling items in my apartment I wasn’t using.

It has now kind of turned it into a side hustle by consigning items for people and reselling things from thrift stores!

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

200-300

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

I have only been with my company for 2 years, so not yet… but aiming for that soon!

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, when initially signing I tried to negotiate, but it didn’t get much further than that because of “market ranges” for new hires and company “policy”.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have about $17k left in student loans, but estimated to pay them off by July 2022! Taking advantage of that 0% interest????

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

I have about $30k invested across my 401k/Roth IRA

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

My wedding dress! It was definitely a splurge, but I have been saving for my wedding prior to being engaged and I wanted to feel absolutely beautiful on my day! 100% worth it!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Do what YOU want and don’t stray away from who you are.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off my student loans, max out my Roth IRA & HSA, and save money for a down payment on a new house to make our current home a rental property.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

My emergency fund (3 months expenses) not being big enough for an unexpected house expense or an unexpected life change such as a child.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my car 3 years early and having enough money to cash flow my wedding

 

*Bonus question*: What makes you imperfect?

I stress myself out about saving for this/that and investing for retirement that sometimes I’m not able to enjoy my life I have now and experience things as they come up.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!