It’s Per$onal #82 – Age 27, New Jersey

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Melissa – @money_withmelissa

Taylor’s comment: Melissa is our very first non-anonymous person!

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

New Jersey

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, my family lives here.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

0

 

Do you have any pets?

1 cat

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Easy, I am very friendly.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I like to run

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

It impacted in a positive way. I spent less money staying home and I found an extra part time job (Amazon) since it was really at a high demand during that time. I took advantage of the bonuses.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$50

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

$615

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Recruiter

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I love making a difference in someone’s life each time I make an offer.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$45000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes. I still work at Amazon!

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

~$1,666

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Not yet.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes.

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$49,000 in 17 months.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

No

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

Not contributing at the moment. I do have about $2700 so far.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2021 so far?

Buying out my leased vehicle. It felt great knowing I own my car.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t follow what everyone else is doing. It’s okay that you don’t have the latest car and the latest phone.

 

What are your money goals, if any?
Currently saving for a down payment on a home! Once I have my down payment saved, I will resume investing 15% into retirement. Once I have a mortgage I would also like to pay the home off early for a peace of mind. After house is paid off, I will max out my investments and possibly save up for a rental property later on in the future.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

I don’t have any concerns at the moment.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Being debt free and having my 6 months emergency fund!

 

*Bonus question*: What makes you imperfect?

 My time management skills. I need to work on managing my time better!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.