It’s Per$onal #1 – Age 28, Rochester, NY

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

ITS PERSONAL - anonymous money blog series for women

 

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live?

Rochester, NY

 

What is your current occupation?

Mental Health Therapist (LMHC)

 

What is your yearly salary for your current occupation?

Between $40k – $60k

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle?

Yes, I have a second job

 

If yes, what is your second job / side hustle?

Owning a private therapy practice

 

About how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Before taxes 1k-1.5k

 

Do you have any student loan debt?

Yes

 

If yes, how much student loan debt do you have?

68k

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

$220

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If yes, how much credit card debt do you have?

About 500 (target and amazon store cards) My personal credit card that i use for everything and pay off monthly, is paid off in full each month. I have not earned interest on that card in 3 years.

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt?

I have interest free financing on my living room furniture, bed set, and refrigerator

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If yes, what is your credit score?

740

 

Biggest purchase of 2020?

A house!

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My home

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

YES!

 

How much have you saved for retirement?

I actually have no idea, i have been saving about 200 dollars a month for 3 years. I went one year employed in my current position before contributing to my retirement which was very silly! My employer does not match my contribution, however I do get a pension after being vetted after 5 years, which is in just a few months for me!

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

To have a healthy emergency fund that can be used if there are any unexpected home expenses

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Honestly, I’m not sure. I have everything I need, so I would say to just have some good money saved away that I could use for a vacation (if that’s possible within the next 5 years) and know that I can cash flow it.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

I have some debts that are not harming my credit score (noted above) and my concern is that within the first few years of owning my home, I will end up putting more into it than saving

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Opening my private practice and being able to pay my mortgage, alone as a single woman completely from that side income. It is something that I would eventually like to be my main source of income down the line.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to add?

I am hoping to qualify for PSLF as a mental health provider working for a non profit. I have about 3.5 years of qualifying payments out of the traditional 10 year plan. This is why I pay the minimum on my student loans, have not paid during this time of forbearance, and will continue to pay the minimum until my loans are forgiven in about 6 years.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.