It’s Per$onal #136 – Age 33, Portland, OR

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

33

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Portland, OR

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

It’s ok. Pro is I have good friends here and it’s relatively affordable. Con is it’s not easy to travel from. Hopefully I’ll move back east in the next couple of years.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Doctorate

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

None

 

Do you have any pets?

No…I probably cave and get a dog soon

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I’ve been lucky enough to click with people I work with and make friends that way. Also one of my life long friends lives here which has made it easier to build community.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

love to travel, try out new restaurants, wine tasting and baking pies

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Initially actually decreased my salary as my employer was losing money…stabilized and actually increased since then. Also been able to save by investing all the money I would have paid to student loans with the deferment!

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

50-100

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2250

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Doctor

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Overall yes, the pros outweigh the cons of my current job.

 

Looking for a new job? Track your interviews with this FREE Interview Tracker!
interview tracker

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

262000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

No

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student- 208000, car- 1300

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

191000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My trips! 4 international trips including a magical trip to the Faroe Islands

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Give yourself grace and stop comparing. You’ll get there when you get there.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

To be debt free, be brave enough to invest more of my cash savings and likely buy property

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Pay off my loans

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Hit 100k net worth despite >200k in loans!

 

What makes you imperfect?

If it makes me happy, I don’t feel guilty about spending money. Life is short and I work hard enough to enjoy the experiences so I have no regrets about that last minute purchase or flight.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.