It’s Per$onal #119 – Age 28, Medford, OR

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Medford, OR

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes. Gorgeous views and amazing weather

 

What is your highest level of education?

Doctorate

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Single

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

It was very hard at first, but after putting myself out there again and again I was able to find a great group of friends here

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Hiking, running, trying new restaurants and traveling

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

No

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$75-100

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1100

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Pharmacist

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, it is very rewarding and I enjoy the direct patient care

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

145000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I used to work at a local brewery 2 nights a week. I wanted to learn more and use the extra cash for student loan payment. I got burnt out and just recently quit

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Was about 500-600

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, when I was hired on and as I’ve gotten more certifications

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Not applicable

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans (~82k left) and car (~7000 left)

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

~50k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Flight for my best friends wedding in Nashville!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Invest in your retirement EARLY especially when you are single with minimal expenses

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off my loans by 2024 and attempt to buy a house

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Concern about buying a house. Houses are SO expensive here but I hate throwing money away with rent every month

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I’ve saved 50k in a HYSA set aside to either pay off most of my student loans or use as a down payment on a house!

 

What makes you imperfect?

I’m an anxious creature. Even with my financial stability I am always worrying about money and saving.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!