It’s Per$onal #109 – Age 28, SLC, Utah

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

SLC, Utah

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! I’d love to move somewhere with less intense of a winter and less worry of water in the next few years

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Long term relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard! I have some friends I’ve met through my boyfriend and friends I’ve made myself. But with working it’s hard to maintain relationships.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

I need to find more things to get involved in. My only hobbies currently are working, volunteering and watching TV

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I found my dream job that would have never been possible without it. They moved fully remote so I was able to be brought on without living in SF.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

My portion is $40-$60/week

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1200

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Data Analyst

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I LOVE my job. I have an amazing boss, I get positive reinforcement, amazing benefits and it’s challenging

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

91k + 10% bonus

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Temporarily have 2nd job to pay down debt. Should be quitting in May

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

80k yr + 5% bonus

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Not at these current companies

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

when I started at my old company I was offered 40k. I told them I would starve to death and we got the starting pay up to 50k

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

NA

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans – 120k

Mortgage – 160k

HELOC – 25k

Car note – just paid off

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

Roth IRA – 35k, 401k – 5k

 

Roll Over Your Old 401(k) with Capitalize!

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Paying off my car was amazing. Otherwise my boyfriend and I just bought a fancy coffee maker to stop going out for coffee daily!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Find passions that are active! Avoid drinking heavily and getting into drugs

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off all debt outside my mortgage in the next 2-3 years. Purchase an investment property this year

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Combining finances with my boyfriend! We’ve been talking about it high level but need to have a deeper conversation

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I grew up pretty poor, food stamps, free lunches, etc, so I am insanely proud of getting to where I am in my career. I make good money, am educated and I can say it’s ALL because of me. I had nothing given to me so my successes (and Debts) are my own.

 

What makes you imperfect?

I don’t have great “balance”. I get too heads down at work and am missing out on life around me.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

Want to fill out your own It’s Per$onal survey? Drop your email below! The survey is sent to all email subscribers once a month.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.