It’s Per$onal #122 – Age 35, Sacramento, CA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

35

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Sacramento, CA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes! I relocated from Orange County, CA in search of a slower pace & small town vibes, Sacramento delivers.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

4 year old son

 

Do you have any pets?

2 cats

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Not difficult but I’m not really looking! I have limited time & a solid set of friends I get to spend time with regularly.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Personal finance, home decor, planning & organization, cooking, working out & True Crime podcasts.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Only positively, during the initial shutdowns. My husband is a teacher who received large stipends & my sons day care was closed with no payment due. I work for home & had no impact. We were very lucky.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$250

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2121

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Digital Strategist for tech company

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Love my job, independent creative work in an industry I enjoy !

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$309,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yep! I’ve been able to consistently advance by expanding my skills and taking on people leadership roles. I credit this to excellent mentors who challenged me.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, but not well. I find I get too excited about the new opportunity & lose my cool. I vow to do better each time.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Mortgage @ $350k

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

300k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

A total splurge necklace for Mother’s Day, I feel like an adult!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Live in contentment & don’t compare yourself to others.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Cash flow a full house remodel

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Unexpected life events, like losing my job. I save diligently & contain life style creep just in case.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I never thought I would have the annual salary or career success I do. I don’t talk about the money aspect often but I am so proud of the life it’s allowing me to build for my son.

 

What makes you imperfect?

I am notoriously bad at responding to texts & reaching out to friends! Also, I’m a human that requires SO MUCH sleep!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.