It’s Per$onal #139 – Age 32, Schenectady, NY

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

32

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Schenectady, NY

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, aside from weather and cost of living, but everything is relative.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Yes, my work environment makes this easy

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Fitness is my career as well as a hobby. My second love is money ??.

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, I lost my job for over 1 year. As a result I started training on my own learning I didn’t need a corporate gym taking so much of my profit.

Covid lead me to a new job allowing me more freedom for more money. Without Covid I’m not sure I would where I am now.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$150-$200 includes household items

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1500

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Coach Orangetheory Fitness

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes. Every job has its downsides but fitness is incredibly draining both physically and emotionally. This position has allowed me to work less and make more.

I am able to manage my sleep and my own workouts -which should be top priority as an employee of any kind.

 

it's personal
 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

I have yet to be in this position for one full tax year.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I take on personal one on one clients

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Depending on sessions 400 to over 1,000

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

You could say so. (previous job) I earned an extra job title by being a part of a program development team

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

No

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$50,000 consumer (cars and student loans)

$20,000 personal (paid for our wedding)

Just under 2 years

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

24,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

A trip to Aruba

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Your life doesn’t have to be lived the way other peoples are.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

To live financially comfortable doing everything that brings me joy

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Inflation

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Becoming debt free

 

What makes you imperfect?

I lack a lot of internal confidence, even if I’m good at something.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!