It’s Per$onal #123 – Age 31, East Hartford, CT

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

31

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

East Hartford, Connecticut

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes because it is fairly quiet but close enough (15 minute drive) to the city to have a night out

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No just pets

 

Do you have any pets?

Yes, 2 dogs and 2 cats

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I find it quite hard, but I have made some friends at work and I’m starting to make friends at orange theory

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

My hobbies are gardening and playing with the dogs/ going on hikes and walks

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes, but not in the way it has affected most. My industry became much busier and I found that my industry grew in size so I wasn’t impacted negatively, rather positively

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$45

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1590

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Insurance Marketing Specialist

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my job, I have a lot of freedom in my job. I work from home 2 days every week and go into the office 3 days. I am not micromanaged and my management team is truly spectacular

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

Base is $60,000 with bonus’s and commission I am closer to $70,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I occasionally drive for instacart

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Only 200-300 per month

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, I used to be just an account manager and was promoted to marketing specialist

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, I negotiated my hiring salary but since I have been given very generous raises and haven’t felt the need to negotiate

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have credit cards, personal loans, student loans and a mortgage/ HELOC

CC’s: 17,000

Personal loans: $23,000

Student loans: $32,000

Mortgage: $156,000

HELOC: $45,000

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$7,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

New deal for home office

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t allow your heart to cloud your brain

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Lower my debt and buy an investment property

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off my personal loan and credit cards

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Purchasing my home by myself without any assistance from a significant other or family

 

What makes you imperfect?

I’m too honest for my own good

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!