It’s Per$onal #149 – Age 29, West Linn, OR

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

An anonymous blog series about the personal lives of women.

 

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

West Linn, Oregon

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes I do. It’s a fairly small quiet town but close enough to good restaurants, nature hikes, and Portland

 

Do you have any hobbies?

Orange theory, board games and cooking. I also enjoy traveling home to CA to visit my family frequently.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

San Jose state university

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

FP&A manager (FP&A = Financial Planning & Analysis)

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes I do enjoy my job. My job is a unique finance role where I get to utilize SQL, visualization tools, provide insights to executives, and every day is always different.

I also work with a great bunch of people and manage a small team that I get along with super well.

 

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

About 165k including bonus. Also a decent amount of RSU’s, 401k match, employee stock purchase program, and 40 dollars a month for health/fitness

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes. I have been promoted 3 times from financial analyst up until manager.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

No I have not.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No side hustle but I have thought about selling baked goods. But honestly I already work long days I don’t know if I could find any extra time.

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

I am in a relationship going on 4 years.

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No children yet

 

Do you have any pets?

Sadly no, but I am hoping to get a dog soon.

 

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1950

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

Probably about 400 dollars or maybe more. My boyfriend eats a lot!

 

it's personal

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

The only debt I’ve ever had was a car payment. It took me maybe 3 yrs to pay off at 16k. I bought that car in college and paid it off shortly after graduating. Since then I’ve bought my cars in cash.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

I have about 100k saved. I am pretty satisfied with this. I’ve started maxing out my 401k every year. I had more before the economy started to head south.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

Flights to Hawaii for myself and my boyfriend !

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Worry less about money and have a little bit more fun. I am still fairly money savvy but in high school I missed out on important events like prom because I wanted to work to make money instead.

Now I wish I wasn’t so worried about that $7 minimum wage.

 

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

I want to focus on improving my health by going to bed earlier, eating healthier, drinking more water and going outside more.

 

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

I am struggling with feeling like I’m not doing enough.

 

8 Easy Tips for Making Friends As An Adult

 

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

I am most proud of myself for moving to oregon all by myself and creating a life for myself.

 

What makes you imperfect?

I’m not very organized and forget things easily.

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

 

it's per$onal

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.