It’s Per$onal #161 – Age 33, Louisville, KY

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal

 

How old are you?

33

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Louisville, KY

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, my family is all here and the area has a reasonable cost of living.

 

Do you have any hobbies?

Does working out count?

 

What is your highest level of education?

Doctorate

 

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

Georgia Tech – Psychology

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Psychologist

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I love my current job! When I first started my career I was in a fully clinical role where I spent all day doing therapy. That was exhausting. My current role is only about 20% clinical work which I love.

 

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

$143,000

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

No

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, kind of. They asked me what salary I was looking for. I asked for $140,00 and they offered $135,000. I have had two cost of living adjustments since to get to my current salary.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I maintain a small private practice with a caseload of about 10 clients

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Between $1500-1700

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

I am in a relationship.

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?
Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

I have a toy poodle named Corbett

 

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2150

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$100-$125

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I have $156,000 in student loan debt. I am using the public servant loan forgiveness program, so a large amount will be forgiven in 7 years.

 

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

$25,000 this is lower then I would like but I was in grad school for a lot of years.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

New car – Lincoln Nautalius

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Starting putting money into a Roth IRA as soon as you start working l, even if it is just a little bit.

 

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

I am working on saving money to do some renovations to my house. I would like to have about $50,000 before I start.

 

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

Being content with where things are and not feeling like I need to rush from one accomplishment or milestone to the next.

 

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

Completing my doctorate

 

What makes you imperfect?

Lots of things but the being a terrible cook is the most annoying on a daily basis

 

Any final thoughts you want to add?

I love this blog! Thanks to everyone who shares and to you for keeping it going!

 

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-161/

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!