It’s Per$onal #23 – Age 27, North Shore Boston, MA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Em

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live?

North Shore Boston, MA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single, living with boyfriend

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

$350

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not negatively, have saved some money from no commute/driving less, etc.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Compliance Analyst

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

78,800

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, mostly. Wish I was using my degree more.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, have tried selling homemade jewelry on Etsy with no luck…

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Not really. Have a general idea of range of expenses (monthly groceries, loans, insurance, etc) but don’t stick to a strict budget.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

74,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

528

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

720

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

Not sure, appx $20,000 I think. The companies I’ve worked for have matched and my parents started a Roth for me when I started working at around 15!

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Lots of traveling, volunteering, pursuing hobbies.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Paying off my car! ~$2,000.

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My car! Paid ~$8,000 down.

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Spending money on my hobbies and knitting. Used to spend money on clothes but I am trying to cut back.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Save money! Invest more! Cut discretionary spending.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

I would love to buy a house. Would love to buy a duplex/multi-family so I can rent out the other units.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Cutting discretionary spending so I can pay off as much as my student loans as I can (~$1,000/month since April) while payments are deferred and not accruing interest due to COVID.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my car was awesome! Also proud of the raises/ bonuses I’ve received.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

N/A

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.