It’s Per$onal #22 – Age 28, Des Moines, IA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Faith

 

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live?

Des Moines, IA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

$250

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Received $800 in hazard pay from employer but fortunately have seen no reduction in hours/pay.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Consumer Loan Underwriter

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$60,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

It can be fulfilling but stressful. Especially right now with the changes that have been made due to COVID (greater margin for error).

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes: now contributing at least 15% into 401k, $500bi-weekly into college fund (cash flowing grad school), $900 for living expenses (rent, groceries, fun money, utilities, cell, etc all have their own budget rolled into that). $200/mo travel/car savings. Anything left over goes to fund IRA or short-term emergency fund. — I live with 2 roommates in a mobile home that family owns so essentially only have to pay for lot rent & utilities. It’s been critical when trying to pay off debt/save/build wealth!

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$30k in student loans in 2.5yrs. $5k in credit card debt paid off in the first 6mo after college graduation (2016)

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/A

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

N/A

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

I do use a credit card for pretty much all purchases for points & then pay off in full monthly.

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

No

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

785

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

$31,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Retire by 60. Have home & second home (lake, beach our mountain house) paid off. Travel often. And having enough to quit a job between now & 60 if it’s not a good fit & not worrying about income for a couple of months.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Getting roof repaired after wind storm – insurance would only cover half

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Studying abroad

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Saving up for big yearly trip. Love watching that fund increase

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Save for the next semester’s tuition

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Save for down payment for a home (probably buy in 5yrs), save for new car, contribute the maximum for retirement.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Retirement: investing enough

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off student loans quickly & funding a 12mo emergency fund earlier this year.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

My biggest weakness in my budget is probably eating out/fast food. Especially now with COVID since I haven’t been traveling, going out, spending as much socially I feel justified going over when it would be cheaper/healthier to cut back and save even more. Any tips for budget meal planning that isn’t boring (not eating the same 5 meals on repeat)?

Comment any tips in the comments section below!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!