It’s Per$onal #65 – Age 28, Des Moines, IA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Amelia

 

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Des Moines, IA

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Single – long term boyfriend

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1000

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes – I work at a brewery as a bartender part time and we were mandated to shut down from mid March through June. Then again for 2.5 weeks in September.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Client Manager

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$47,500

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

It’s fine for now but it’s not my forever career. I want to be self employed as a real estate investor.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes – bartend at a brewery. I also flipped my first property this year and made $20k after taxes. With the proceeds I purchased my first triplex that I will rent out so I’m adding landlord to my side hustle list.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Bartending – $300/$400 per month. I will hopefully make $800 per month on the triplex after all expenses.

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes. I use The Budget Mom’s free monthly budget template and track everything I spend money on during the month.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

$33k total in student loans. $19k in 2020 alone.

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

No

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

N/a

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

None.

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

Invest property triplex mortgage – $55k

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

775

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

6% of each paycheck to employer sponsored 401k. They match 3%.

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Freedom to travel and afford a comfortable lifestyle.

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

Investment property.

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Investment property.

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

I’ve really started trying to live a more minimalistic lifestyle the past few years. I enjoy spending my money on experiences rather than materialistic things. I mostly spend my money on traveling, eating out, good beer and live music.

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Continue growing my real estate portfolio for additional monthly income.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Make enough money flipping/landlording to quit my full time job.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

None.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off the remainder ($19k) of my student loans in 2020 and purchasing my first investment property.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Nope!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.