It’s Per$onal #115 – Age 32, Denver, CO

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

32

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Denver, CO

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

I love it – I’ve been here for 12 years and have a strong community and love living in a place where my husband and I can comfortably be a one car family (I mostly bike or walk). The air quality, on the other hand…

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Fairly easy through hobbies and work; I make it a priority to get to know people and put myself out there and it pays off through relationship building.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Yes! Learning new things is one of the greatest joys of my life. I love to dance and do that as my main form of exercise. I’m a terrible dancer, but the class I take is very forgiving and has empowered my self-love and self-expression. I also love Formula 1 (thanks, Netflix :), biking, listening to podcasts, reading and looking for the very best pizza Denver has to offer (a forever journey!!).

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I feel very fortunate to say it has not.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$250

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2000

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Director at a tech company

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I do – it has its challenges, as they all do, but on the whole, I feel incredibly fortunate to get to do different things every day and raise up my employees.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

170000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

N/A

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes – I’ve been a big self-advocate through networking and finding mentors; I’ve been promoted many times in my career at this point.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Definitely! I’ve negotiated every offer I’ve gotten and would recommend it to all women.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

70000 between medical and student debt – it took me about 10 years where I was very concentrated on paying off the debt, though my income was low for a majority of that timeframe.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

N/A

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

Between my husband and me, we have ~$500,000 invested.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My plane ticket to Italy!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

To trust that life is NOT A LINEAR path and that’s perfectly fine!

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I want to financially be able to take my husband and I on a month long trip to Europe or Asia every year

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

The volatility of the market

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my student loans – it was a long road and one I worked strategically toward.

 

What makes you imperfect?

SO MANY THINGS. I’m human and always growing and evolving – I mess up my words, I reschedule commitments, I get overwhelmed; I am fallible and I can recognize those things don’t define me.

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.