It’s Per$onal #16 – Age 32, Orange County, NC

It’s Per$onal is a completely anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances of women.

its personal

Name:

Susie Q

 

How old are you?

32

 

Where do you live?

Orange County, NC

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single or married?

Married

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

No

 

What is your current monthly rent / mortgage?

2086.00

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

In a positive way- are saving more by not commuting and not being able to travel

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Occupational Therapist

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

60,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I love working with children and seeing them learn, grow and thrive. During COVID-19 I’ve also been working with their families and it’s been incredible

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I sporadically do some consultation work and have done adjunct teaching as well.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Anywhere from $0-$400

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

Yes! We set a monthly budget and update it frequently in a spreadsheet.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

9,500.00

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

$208

 

Do you have any credit card debt?

No

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

N/A

 

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

We owe on our house that we bought in 2019

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

730

 

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

35,000 (my husband has another 120,000)

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

Being able to travel some, relax, and enjoy wherever I live!

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020 so far?

Outdoor furniture

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

Our house

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?

Seasonal decorations/candles, food, clothes

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Pay off student loans

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

Pay off our house early, save more aggressively for retirement

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

No huge concerns, but I want to continue to be smart with money

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Consistently budgeting so I’m telling my money what to do instead of it telling me what to do

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

Nope!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

 

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.