It’s Per$onal #118 – Age 25, Nashville, TN

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Nashville, TN

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Nashville is a great place to be a young professional. It’s fun, beautiful, and full of stuff to do. That being said, I have no family here so I don’t know that I can see myself staying here long term.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a long term relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

My sweet pitbull puppy!

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

I find it easy to meet people and make acquaintances, but harder to find real friends that I’d hang out with long term. It’s hard finding people with common interests.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Hot yoga, playing with my dog, and cooking

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Yes and no. When the pandemic started, I was a few months into my first full time job with a large accounting firm in Atlanta. They froze our wages instead of doing their annual comp increase.

With my student loan payments and the cost of living alone at the time, I was living paycheck to paycheck despite having a masters and working for a global firm. I made the decision to move in with my boyfriend in Nashville temporarily to save money (and not have to be quarantined alone!) and never ended up leaving.

I quit that job and got a better paying job in Nashville, and my rent is half of what it was before.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$50-70 per person

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

750

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Manager of Accounting

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! I have a lot of freedom and I feel like my input matters. I can see myself growing with the company.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

~$100,000 including bonuses

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes! When I moved to Nashville I initially worked for a small company in an entry level role to get my foot in the door despite having experience and being overqualified.

I didn’t feel like my growth was a priority for them and when I asked for a promotion they said no. So, within a month I got a new job with a higher title and pay, and a few months in the new employer promoted me again.

The whole experience showed me how important is is to advocate for myself and the importance of working for an employer that values me.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes! I am an huge advocate for women negotiating their salary. I have negotiated my salary for each new job and promotion. They almost always say yes if you ask.

Men always negotiate for salaries and women often don’t. It makes me sad hearing my female peers mention that they didn’t think to ask for more.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans – $25k federal and $13k private. I’m a first generation college grad, so going to school was a huge investment that I didn’t fully understand when I took out loans at 17.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

~15k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

My puppy! I’m obsessed with him

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Ask for what you want, even if you don’t feel like you deserve it. Let other people tell you “no”, rather than yourself. Also, life outside of work is always more important.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off my student loans in the next two years and build my net worth

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not knowing if I should buy a house in this crazy market

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Being financially secure enough that I could spoil my grandparents with plane tickets

 

What makes you imperfect?

Everything, but that’s okay 🙂

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!