It’s Per$onal #120 – Age 27, Minneapolis, MN

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

What is your name?
Tara Miller, @debtfreemillennial on Instagram and @debtfreemillennial_ on tiktok and @debtfreemill on twitter

 

Debt Free Millennial
How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Minneapolis MN

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, I’ve lived in MN my whole life and just love this state

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship and living with partner

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

A little bit of both, I find it hard to make friends organically in your 20s, but have had a lot of success using Bumble BFF to make friends post college!

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Yoga, gardening, reading, going to concerts

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not significantly, I am thankful to have had a job throughout Covid and no major impacts to my finances

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

I spend $50/week on HelloFresh and probably another $50-100 on groceries every other week

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1650

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Underwriting Analyst

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I do, but my thoughts have recently changed as there’s been a lot of changes within my company since I started

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$62,500

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Not really, I make some small sums of money using cash back and survey apps on my phone but that’s about it!

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

Maybe $10/week at most

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, I received a promotion at my last job from client service manager to lead client service manager after about a year and a half of working there

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

I am currently in the process of doing so for a new job and plan to do so for any new job I get in the future or raise!

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/a

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

I currently only have student loans. I paid off my car, credit cards, cell phone and one of my student loans in the last 4 months

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$7500 approximately

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Tickets to a music festival

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t be a people pleaser, always advocate for yourself

 

What are your money goals, if any?

To pay off my small student loan before the end of 2022, have $5k in HYSA, and get a raise or promotion this year!

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Paying off my student loans

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Aggressively paying down my student loans and other debts

 

What makes you imperfect?

I try my hardest to budget, but in reality I really only know my fixed expenses and I am pretty unaware of what my variable expenses are

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!