It’s Per$onal #129 – Age 27, Los Angeles, CA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

What’s your name?

Raimee

raimee travel

Check out Raimee on social!

Instagram: @raimeetravel

 

How old are you?

27

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Los Angeles

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

I love it! A lot of people have misconceptions about LA, but I think it can be an incredible place to live — especially because the weather is perfect.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

in a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

no

 

Do you have any pets?

I don’t right now, but I really want to get a dog and a cat eventually! Hopefully within the next year or two.

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

It definitely depends, I can be very shy in person unless the other people I’m around are incredibly open. If the people I’m meeting are outgoing and welcoming, then I find it easy to connect.

I’m the type of person that never wants to burden others, so it can be hard for me to “make the first move” when it comes to making new friends. I LOVE when more extroverted people “collect” me into their friendship haha.

But I have been working on getting better at being more open and putting in more of an effort to make more friends even if it feels a bit uncomfortable for me!

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Some of my main hobbies include reading fantasy books, watching movies & anime, and traveling! I also love to go hiking and need to do more of it!

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

It helped me spend less money on travel LOL. But there was also a point where I was working in the travel industry and due to COVID I was laid off from that role.

For a few months I was without an income until I found a new job — thankful for my emergency fund during that time! I pretty much burned through it and had to start over when I got my new job.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$50-100

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

800

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Head of Content at onomy

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I actually really love my job! I never thought I’d be able to find a job I loved as much as the one I had when working in the travel industry, but I actually find myself enjoying this job even more because it has new challenges that feel very achievable that I didn’t have in previous roles.

I get to work on a lot of really exciting projects and lead a team of super talented people, too! I also strongly align with the company’s mission to empower young adults with the critical information we need to succeed in life, so it’s really easy to feel like I’m actually working toward making a difference & helping people.

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

85,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes! I currently do some brand partnerships through my TikTok & Instagram which has been generating a decent amount of monthly income. I’m also working on starting to do some UGC* content for brands as well.

Previously I’ve had a number of 5-10 hour a week side hustles for various clients writing their newsletter, helping them edit their podcast, writing blog posts, etc. I’ve also done quite a bit of dog-sitting via Rover!

*UGC = User Generated Content

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

1-2k

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes! I recently was promoted from “Content Manager” to “Head of Content”.

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

NOT ENOUGH LOL. Right now $15,000

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Hopefully the trip to Spain I just booked!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

You REALLY don’t need to please everyone. It actually makes more people have issues with you in the long run. You’re not a bad person for saying no. Please start investing as soon as you can.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

I really want to have at least $100k net-worth by the time I’m 35. I feel like that is possible even sooner if I continue to increase my salary. I really want to just feel some sense of stability and security with my finances, which I don’t currently feel.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Lack of stability. I need more structure & I need to be better about saving, which is hard to do when living in California.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

I just recently got a raise and I’m very proud to be earning more than I ever have been with a combination of my salary and side hustles!

I also recently landed my first brand deal which will amount to over $1k — which is the biggest I’ve gotten! I also am proud that I have my investments automated. Oops that was a lot of “most proud of” things lol.

 

What makes you imperfect?

This question actually really speaks to me and I’m going to be a little vulnerable here because why not? When I was growing up — I was REALLY quiet. So quiet and contained that often times adults, peers, friends would call me “ms. perfect”.

That label really stuck with me and led to me being an overachiever when it came to everything: grades, looks, weight, relationships, etc.

I think I also thought that because I was getting such positive feedback for being quiet, mysterious, shy, “nice”, I had to keep up that appearance to be liked or accepted at all.

It really kept me from being my authentic self for a long time, and sometimes I think I’m still trying to figure out who that person is.

As I’ve entered my late 20s, Im proud to say I feel so much more content being “imperfect” and owning those imperfect things about me. I want to showcase more of that, too because imperfect is a GOOD thing!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!