It’s Per$onal #128 – Age 28, Belvidere, NJ

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

28

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Belvidere, NJ

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes – safe neighborhood, low taxes (comparatively), close-ish to work, good food, family & friends

 

What is your highest level of education?

Master’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Engaged (wedding in March)

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

18-year-old college student

 

Do you have any pets?

One special needs cat

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Hard – I am introverted & enjoy alone time

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Weight lifting, walking, reading books, listening to podcasts, watching TV/movies, traveling

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Positively (WFH, no social spending, mortgage refi) & negatively (lasting inflation)

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$100-200

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

1000

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Scientist

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes – flexible, engaging, good benefits

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

$82k base / $160k total comp (bonus, 401k, health insurance)

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No – can finally afford NOT to

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes – promoted to a higher level of my same role

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Tried to (HR laughed at me)

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

Windfalls – insurance claim & inheritance from grandparents. Lesson learned & will stay out of debt forever now.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Mortgage only, but I don’t count it. I don’t count my home as part of my net worth either.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

$60k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Wedding!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Apply for scholarships

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Stay debt free / have a plan when taking on debt

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Growing my salary this past year has been more difficult than I had imagined it would ever be

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Never financing a car, using credit cards wisely, paying myself first

 

What makes you imperfect?

Literally everything haha

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.