It’s Per$onal #68 – Age 32, Glendora, California

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

its personal

Name:

Susie Q

 

How old are you?

32

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Glendora, California

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single or married?

Divorced, but now in a loving relationship

 

If you are married, do you and your spouse have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children or dependents? If yes, please explain.

N/A

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

0

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

I was not financially impacted. I was furloughed for 5 months, but used that time to really focus on my daily spending and revising my monthly budget.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Department Manager for big retail chain

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

50,000

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Let’s just say there are good days and bad days. Retail is a very hectic and inconsistent environment. Especially right now with the pandemic. But, I work with some amazing people that make each day a little better. I know that this isn’t my forever job, but it’s safe and secure for the moment.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No side hustle right now. I was doing Postmates for a year until the pandemic hit.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

I was making an extra $200-$500 a month.

 

Do you budget on a consistent basis? If so, please explain how you currently budget:

I just started budgeting consistently during quarantine. I track my spending each day in my notes app. On the 1st and 15th, my partner and I have “money dates” to look at our monthly budgets. We don’t have any joint accounts, so we have separate budgets but share all that we spend. I try to make my budget as zero-based as I can, I’m still new to it though!

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

Do you have any student loan debt currently?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much student loan debt do you have?

Right around $32,000

 

What is your monthly student loan payment amount?

170

Do you have any credit card debt?

Yes

 

If Yes, about how much credit card debt do you have currently?

Right under $25,000

Do you have any other kinds of debt? If Yes, please explain:

I also have an auto loan. Had a rough breakdown after my divorce, so I thought I deserved a car!

 

Do you know what your credit score is?

Yes

 

If Yes, what is your credit score?

691

Are you currently saving for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have saved for retirement?

28,000

 

What does an ideal retirement look like for you?

My ideal retirement is just comfort. I don’t have an exact number in my mind, but I’m not going to stop saving until I feel that I can just relax. I love to work, but I know I can do it forever!

 

What’s your biggest purchase of 2020?

An iPad for my partner’s mom. Worth every penny!

 

Biggest purchase of your life?

My car! She’s beautiful and worth all $32,000 plus interest haha

 

What do you spend money on that brings you joy?
Coffee. I absolutely love coffee more than most things in this world! I have a coffee category in my budget because it is that important to me. I drink it at home, at work, and on the go. I’ll get it from anywhere too! But I really prefer Starbucks!

 

What are your short term money goals, if any? ( < 1 year)

Have a 6 month emergency fund saved by December 31st. My fund should be at $15,000. Right now, I have $12,000.

 

What are your long term money goals, if any? ( > 1 year)

To be debt free by May 2022. I’m giving myself enough time to find my right budget, and to take into account the rough few quarantine months when my debt payments weren’t as aggressive.

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Having a fully funded emergency fund.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Just taking control of my finances. I came out of a marriage where my life and finances were controlled by spouse. I was given an “allowance” of $50 per week. I felt trapped, and decided to get out of the relationship. When I left, I bought a car and maxed out my credit cards to make myself feel better. Three years later, here I am with a better head on my shoulders and willingness to learn and fix my financial situation.

 

Anything we didn’t ask about you that you want to include?

I couldn’t have started this financial journey without these social media accounts: broke millennial, her first 100k, clever girl finance, babe on a budget, and imperfect finance (now Imperfect Taylor) !!

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

 

it's per$onal

Other posts you might like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.