It’s Per$onal #135 – Age 25, Arlington, VA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

25

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Arlington, VA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

I have enjoyed it during this period of my life, super fun social scene and lots of people my age! In a few years down the road I can see myself moving elsewhere due to the high cost of home prices.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

In a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

A little bit of both! I have a solid group of bestfriends in the area from college that I adore, but we don’t venture too far out from our group. I love meeting new friends, but as this age it is hard to find new friends that become for-lifers.

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

Working out, hiking, attending sporting events/concerts, and traveling!

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not negatively, I am very thankful. My company administered Covid Stipends ($2,500) in 2021 and 2022 to help accommodate home office needs, etc.

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$80 for two people

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2250

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Program Manager

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes, I do like my job! I am in a new position that is also new to the company so I have a ton of freedom to craft my own path. My company is big on work-life balance which I also really appreciate. We partake in Wellness Friday’s, which allows me to have every other Friday off!

 

Looking for a new job? Track your interviews with this FREE Interview Tracker!
interview tracker

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

70,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

Yes, I am a Brand Ambassador Manager for a liquor/canned cocktail company. I do tastings on the weekends at my local Total Wines/ABC stores and occasionally bars/restaurants for bigger events.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

$250-$400

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, I have been promoted twice! I was in my first position for a year and a half, then promoted to a more senior role for a little less than a year. Now I am on my second promotion as a Program Manager.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes, in my most recent promotion I negotiated my salary for an additional amount and they met me in the middle of my request.

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Student loans. 15k but will benefit from the 10k relief.

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

10k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

I try not to buy bigger ticket items, so this is hard to say! Maybe my Hoka running shoes. Or any flight for an upcoming trip is always an exciting purchase!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t over stress, life will always work itself out.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Pay off student loans in-full after receiving 10k relief. Begin investing in a Roth-IRA account in 2023. 100k net worth by 30!

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Saving for a down payment on a house in the next 2-3 years.

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

Paying off my car in full with only a waitressing job!

 

What makes you imperfect?

Putting to much pressure on myself. I try to remind myself there is no defined finish line or life playbook that needs to be followed- everyone is on a different path. Don’t compare yours to others!

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!