It’s Per$onal #138 – Age 29, Boston, MA

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Boston, MA

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

I’m really lucky to live where I live (just south of the city), and I recently got a new job in Boston downtown so it’s truly great.

That said, I always crave change and now that the weather is turning South Carolina and Florida aren’t looking too bad….

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

in a relationship

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you find it easy or hard to make friends?

Not that easy – I’ve made some good post college friends but I wish it were easier. I haven’t really made any new friends since moving to where I currently am two years ago

 

Do you have any hobbies? Please explain.

OTF, traveling, volunteering, going on boats, beach, paddleboarding

 

Has Covid-19 impacted you financially in any way?

Not really

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$120 ish for me and boyfriend (we switch off weeks)

 

What is your total monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

2543

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Brand Marketing

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

Yes! It’s a recent switch but I love the culture and the responsibilities, it’s a growing company and lots of things going on. They are also very flexible so great work life balance

 

Looking for a new job? Track your interviews with this FREE Interview Tracker!
interview tracker

 

What is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation) for your current occupation?

82,000

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, I always try but I can’t find anything that sticks

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

N/A

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

From intern to full time

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary?

Yes – I’ve always negotiated higher but meet somewhere in the middle

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Car

 

Are you currently investing for retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested for retirement?

12k

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2022 so far?

Plane tickets to Fort Lauderdale

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Don’t let other people’s judgements or opinions decide where you want to go in life – if you haven’t met someone yet who does what you want to do or a mentor then you either haven’t met them yet or have the opportunity to carve your own path.

 

What are your money goals, if any?

Save an emergency fund of $15k and not feel like I am putting every paycheck to my credit card the second it hits my account

 

What is your #1 financial concern right now?

Not having enough for enjoying life – travel, activities or having enough for future – wedding, kids, house, etc

 

What financial victory/success are you most proud of?

During COVID I paid off my student loans which just felt like such a relief. But now I will be getting all of that overpayment back from the government and able to keep it with the recent student loan relief which is honestly life changing.

 

What makes you imperfect?

Thinking i have to have it all figured out

 

It’s Per$onal is an anonymous blog series designed to shed light on the intricate details of the personal finances and lifestyles of women.

it's per$onal


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!