It’s Per$onal #155 – Age 29, Chicago, IL

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

its personal

 

How old are you?

29

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Chicago, Illinois

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes, I do but it can get scary with the violence in the city. I live in the suburbs. There is always something to do in Chicago.

 

Do you have any hobbies?

Yes – I enjoy working out, reading, and baking!

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

Saint Xavier University. I doubled majored in Accounting and Finance. I am a CPA.

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

I am a Senior Auditor.

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I do enjoy my job! I am always learning something new and enjoy meeting with my clients. I like to be challenged in new areas and clients!

 

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

$100,200

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes, i have been promoted twice. I do feel a bit behind and would like to be a people leader.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

I have not.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

I sell on Poshmark, Mercari, and eBay. I used that money as extra payments to the principal for the mortgage.

 

If you have a second job or side hustle, about how much money do you make monthly from your second job / side hustle?

It varies!

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?
Do you have any children / dependents?

No children – yet!

 

Do you have any pets?

None, but love dogs!

 

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

$1975

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

$250

 

it's personal

 

Are you debt-free?

Yes

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

My husband and I have no debt. We do not have student loans or a car note. It took two years to pay off each – the car and student loans. My husband paid his truck in cash.

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

$0

 

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

$200 a month. I am not but right now testing the waters especially since we recently got married and adjusting to the finances. We did not live together.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

Our house!

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

To enjoy every moment and not be scared of money. I lived in a scarcity mindset and sometimes felt guilty purchasing things. Also, to purchase less makeup! I am easily influenced by instagram and tik tok videos!

 

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

I have a few! My husband and I would like to take a yearly trip somewhere new!

We have started working out five days a week and feel great. I would like to keep that going.

I also would like to get my auto immune diseases under control and learn to manage them better!

 

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

At the moment, nothing major but adjusting to the married life!

 

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

Wow – a lot! I do not like to brag but being a first generation college student, purchasing my car and giving half of the purchase price as the down payment, getting my CPA license, and getting married!

 

What makes you imperfect?

Everything – from my quirks and laugh, no one is perfect! I have come to a happy place in my life and have fully accepted myself!

 

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-155/

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

 

it's per$onal

 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!