It’s Per$onal #150 – Age 34, Washington, DC

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

An anonymous blog series about the personal lives of women.

 

How old are you?

34

 

Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.)

Washington, DC

 

Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not?

Yes. I really like DC because there is always something to do.

I’m not from this country and moved to the US 4 years ago, and DC has given me job opportunities and friends from different cultures so I don’t feel discriminated or excluded.

 

Do you have any hobbies?

I like walking around the city, going out with my husband and friends, and discovering new coffee shops and restaurants.

 

What is your highest level of education?

Bachelor’s

 

If you went to university/college, what school did you attend? What did you study?

I studied in Colombia. I have a bachelors degree in International Business

 

What is your current occupation? If not currently employed, please say “Not Employed”

Project Manager

 

If you are currently employed, do you like your job? Why or why not?

I work in international development (a very DC thing) and it’s my first time working in this field and I am liking it so far.

Maybe the salaries in this field are low, but I like to learn about how projects impact communities in other countries.

 

If you are currently employed, what is your yearly salary (or approximate yearly compensation)? Feel free to include any bonuses or other compensation perks you may receive this year.

$73,500

 

Have you ever been promoted at work? Please elaborate if so.

Yes. In my current company I started as an Associate and after a year I was promoted to Manager. It’s the first time that I have been promoted and I felt very proud of myself.

 

Have you ever negotiated your salary? Please elaborate if so.

No. Unfortunately that’s something we do not do in my country and I did not know when I started to work here in the US. I learned it after I knew many people in my same position make a lot more money than me.

When I asked why my supervisor told me “well you did not asked more”. I still find it very difficult kind of begging what I deserve for my work.

Also, I think because I have an accent or my English is not as good, I am not confident on how to ask for more.

 

Do you have a second job or side hustle? If Yes, please explain.

No, I don’t but I would like to have another source of income.

 

Are you single / in a relationship / married?

Married

 

If you are in a relationship / married, do you and your partner have joint or separate finances?

 

Do you have any children / dependents?

No

 

Do you have any pets?

No

 

What is your monthly rent / mortgage for your household?

3400

 

About how much do you spend on groceries each week?

150

 

it's personal

 

Are you debt-free?

No

 

If you are debt free, how much debt have you paid off and how long did it take you to pay it all off?

N/A

 

If you do have debt, what kinds of debt (i.e. credit cards, student loans, car) and how much debt do you have?

Mortgage. We owe $620,000

 

Are you currently investing/saving for your retirement?

Yes

 

If yes, about how much do you have invested/saved for retirement? Are you satisfied with this number?

Around $16K. I am behind on this because I moved to the US only 4 years ago.

 

What’s been your favorite purchase of 2023 so far?

We bought tickets to go to Portugal in October.

 

What’s one piece of advice you’d give to your younger self? (Doesn’t have to be money-related)

Believe in yourself because you have the skills you need to accomplish what you dream of.

 

Do you have any current goals you want to accomplish? (Health, Fitness, Financial, Travel, etc.)

I want to exercise 5 times per week, I want to build the habit of moving without overthinking. Currently I do 2 or 3 times per week and I still can get use to it. Also I want to take the PMP exam.

Taylor’s note: PMP = Project Management Professional

 

What are you struggling with in life at the moment, if anything?

I want to spend less time on Instagram or my phone in general, the past year I feel like I spend so much time on my phone and I am wasting my time (I am writing this from my phone hahaha) and I want to read more instead.

 

What accomplishments of yours are you most proud of?

None of my parents were able to go to college and I was the first of my siblings to get a degree.

Probably is not a big deal here in the US but in my country is hard for some people to go to college.

 

What makes you imperfect?

I am not confident most of the time with myself and I have to work more in loving myself.

 

Want to share this post with a friend?

Just copy and paste this link: https://imperfecttaylor.com/its-personal-150/

 

It’s Personal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

 

it's per$onal

 


Like this post? Share it on social!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

You'll Also Love...

It's Per$onal is an anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women.

It’s Per$onal #178 – Age 32, Valencia, CA

  How old are you? 32 Where do you live? City and State (or Country if outside the U.S.) Valencia, CA Do you like where you currently live? Why or why not? No, we want to move out of Los Angeles county. Valencia is nice but it’s temporary and there’s

Read More »
Picture of About Taylor

About Taylor

A few years after graduating college, Taylor made it her mission to become debt free. After paying off all $60k of debt, she began to blog about what she's really passionate about: personal development. Nowadays, Taylor blogs about the topics of Mindset, Money, Health, and Career for women. Learn more about Taylor here.

"It's Per$onal" is a super popular and anonymous blog series about the personal lives and finances of women all over the world. Check it out!

If you like this post, you might like these, too!